Ten world leaders will attend 2018 Republic Day celebrations

In a first ever, Indian government has invited ten leaders from South-East Asia to be a part of the 2018 Republic Day celebrations. Ideally one head of the state from a foreign country is the chief guest during the Republic Day celebrations of India.

The ten leaders of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) have accepted the invitation of the Indian Government and will hopefully attend the 26 January Parade.

They will be present with President Ram Nath Kovind and PM Narendra Modi behind a bullet-proof enclosure on 26 January.

This is being done to commemorate the 70th year of India’s independence as well as the 50th anniversary of the creation of ASEAN.

Read More