Google Translate offers support & features for 7 Indian languages

Google has announced several new changes to its Translate App. Users in Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu can now get to use offline translations as well as instant visual translation in the language of their choice.

Now there is also added support for conversation mode in regional languages including Bengali and Tamil.

Conversation mode allows users to have a bilingual conversation with someone through the Google Translate app. Users simply have to tap the mic to start speaking in a selected language, then tap the mic again. The app will automatically recognize which of the two languages are being spoken.

To make use of offline translations capabilities, download the specific language pack from the Translate app.

The Translate app already lets the user use camera mode to snap a photo of English text and get a translation for it in these languages.

All the features announced are already available in Hindi on the Google Translate app, and have started to roll out in the additional Indian languages both on Android and iOS.

Watch in Sign Language

Read More