Text Size:
Contrast Scheme: Subscribe to RSS feed

Learn the types of cerebral palsy

October 3, 2017

There are a few different types of cerebral palsy. It is classified by the type and location of movement problems. There are also different levels of severity.

There are four main types:

Spastic - This is the most common form of CP and is also known as spastic cerebral palsy. This is caused by damage to the brain's motor cortex. The most common signs are stiff, exaggerated movements.

Athetoidor dyskinetic - This is caused to the brain's basal ganglia, which controls balance and coordination. Children often show involuntary tremors.

Ataxic - This type is caused by damage to the cerebellum, which is that part of the brain that connects to the spine. The signs are lack of coordination and balance.

Mixed - This is when a person shows signs of more than one type of CP.

Cerebral palsy is also grouped by the severity or location of paralysis. This is described using the term plegia, or paralysis, of one or more limbs.

The location of paralysis is described as:

Monoplegia - Paralysis of one limb

Diplegia or Paraplegia - Paralysis of two limbs, usually the legs

Hemiplegia - Paralysis on one side of body

Quadriplegia - Paralysis of whole body (face, arms, legs, torso)

Double hemiplegia - Paralysis of the whole body.

Want to feature your inspiring story or share an event with the disabled community? Write to:

Related News

Read More

Newz Hook - Changing Attitudes towards Disability Newz Hook - Accessible News