Text Size:
Contrast Scheme: Subscribe to RSS feed

Sri Lanka to recognize sign language as an official language

October 13, 2017

The government of Sri Lanka has approved a Bill to recognize sign language as an official language in the country.

For now, Sinhala, Tamil and English are recognized as official languages.

The official recognition of sign language will help around four lakh deaf people of Sri Lanka to get access to education and government services without any discrimination.

The National Policy on Disabilities has accepted Sign Language as the only language of communication for all deaf or hearing impaired individuals.

If the bill is passed by parliament, Sri Lanka will be among 39 countries and self-governing regions in the world to have sign language as an official language.

Read More:

Want to feature your inspiring story or share an event with the disabled community? Write to:

Related News

Read More

Newz Hook - Changing Attitudes towards Disability Newz Hook - Accessible News