Diwali 2017: Read to know the Puja calendar

The great Indian festival of Diwali or Deepavali is the celebration of the return of Lord Rama to his kingdom Ayodhya after 14 years in exile and also the victory of truth over evil.

In 2017, Diwali celebrations are spread over six days.

Here are the details of the important days of the festival.

16 October – Govatsa Dwadashi – The day is to worship cows and calves and feed them dishes made of wheat.

17 October – Dhanteras – The day is to worship Goddess Lakshmi with Kubera for wealth and prosperity. Lord Dhanavantri is also worshipped for good health and Lord Yama is worshipped to prevent untimely death.

18 October – Naraka Chaturdashi – The day is to worship Goddess Kali for killing demon Narakasura.

19 October – Lakshmi Pujan – The day is to worship Lord Ganesha and Goddess Lakshmi to get wealth and happiness in life.

20 October – Govardhan Puja – The day is observed to mark the victory of Lord Krishna over Indra Deva.

21 October – Bhai Dooj – The day is celebrated by sisters who pray for their brothers’ well-being by putting a tika on their forehead and exchanging gifts and sweets.

Watch in Sign Language

Read More