Dehradun to organise North Zone Blind Cricket Tournament

For the first time ever, Dehradun in Uttarakhand would host the National Blind Cricket tournament from 23 to 26 October.

The event is organized by Uttarakhand Science Education and Research Centre and Cricket Association of the Blind in India.

More than 200 visually impaired players from Uttarakhand, Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh are going to be a part of the event.

Two teams will be selected of the eight teams who will then compete in the national blind cricket tournament that will start from 30 October in Mumbai.

After the tournament in Mumbai, Indian Cricket team for blind will be selected. The India team will represent the country in the One Day Internationals World cup for Blind cricket in Dubai, which is starting from 7 January 2018.

The 11 players will be from three categories – B1 (completely blind), B2 (can see up to 3 metres) and B3 (can see up to 6 metres). The blind cricketers will play matches of 40 overs each in the tournament.