Defending champions Andhra Pradesh take on Gujarat in finals of National Blind Cricket tournament

Andhra Pradesh, the 2016 National champion in blind cricket, are fighting it out to retain the title against Gujarat in the finals of the 24th National Cricket tournament for the blind. The final is currently being played at Mumbai's MIG Grounds and promises to be a close and touch encounter. Andhra Pradesh has won the toss and elected to field.

Those who cannot watch the match live, can listen to the telecast on Radio Udaan, the Internet community radio station that is doing an exclusive commentary.

Ajit Wadekar, former captain of the Indian cricket captain, is among the chief guests at the final. Its been an intense tournament with eight states fighting it out for the title of 2017 national champion.

"We are seeing greater support from the public and this has added a lot of spirit to the game", said Ramakant Satam, secretary, Maharashtra Association of Blind Cricket. "There are more sponsors and prize money from the Indian cricket board as well so we have a lot of young blind cricketers raring to make their presence felt on the field".

Blind cricket is now played across the country, with virtually every state setting up a team. There is a need for greater representation from the northeast part of the country, which cricket board officials plan to focus on though blind cricket leagues from next year. There are reports that film star Shah Rukh Khan has shown interest in backing this as well, so clearly the future of blind cricket in India is indeed very bright!