India’s first voter is now 100 years old

Shyam Saran Negi is from Himachal Pradesh and is the person who had cast the first vote in Independent India in 1951.

He was the polling officer at Kalpa booth in 1951.

He is now 100 years old and has again used his right to vote in the Himachal Pradesh assembly elections.

Shyam Saran Negi has never missed out on a voting opportunity throughout his life.

Voting took place in Himachal Pradesh on Thursday in 68 constituencies. 337 candidates including 62 MLAs are in the run for the assembly elections.

The candidates include 83-year-old chief minister Virbhadra Singh of congress and 73 years old Prem Kumar Dhumal of BJP.

Read More