Bypolls in West Bengal & Rajasthan today - Why they matter

Bypolls for three Lok Sabha seats and two assembly seats in Rajasthan and West Bengal will be held today.

The Congress will give a touch fight in Rajasthan to the BJP, while in the two West Bengal constituencies, the contest will be between Trinamool Congress (TMC) and BJP.

In Rajasthan, there are 11 candidates in Alwar, eight candidates in Mandalgarh and 23 in Ajmer. Over 38 lakh voters are registered in all the three constituencies . And for the first time, EVM machines with photos of candidates on them would be used.

In West Bengal, both the seats, Uluberia and Noapara, will see a direct contest between the ruling TMC and the BJP, even as the CPM is trying hard to hold its ground in its old strongholds. In Noapara, the TMC has fielded Sunil Singh, the CPM Gargi Chatterjee.

Read More