Telugu Desam Party withdraws support from Modi government

Andhra Pradesh’s Telegu Desam Party (TDP) has quit the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at the Centre. A week ago, two representatives from the TDP had left the Narendra Modi government.

They left after the Yuvajana Shramika Rythu (YSR) party moved a no-trust motion against Narendra Modi government. This is the first time that such a move is happening under the NDA government.

The TDP has 16 MP’s. Also, all the ministers from TDP who are in the central government have been pulled out by TDP.

According to the TDP and YSR, the central government under Narendra Modi is not ready to give a special status to Andhra Pradesh. While the TDP is led by Chandrababu Naidu, the YSR party is led by Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Both TDP and YSR are extremely agitated over the BJP's attitude towards Andhra Pradesh. YSR Congress MP Y V Subba Reddy has given a notice to the Lok Sabha for including the no confidence motion in the list of business today. According to reports, the notice will be examined at Lok Sabha only if a good proportion of the Opposition supports the TDP and YSR.

Party leaders say the BJP has cheated the people of Andhra Pradesh for the second time. This has forced the party to move a no-confidence motion in Parliament.

Watch in Sign Language

Read More