Karnataka Assembly elections to be held on 12 May

The Election Commission has announced the dates for the Karnataka Assembly elections.

Voting for Karnataka Assembly elections will take place on 12 May 2018.

Counting of votes will take place on 15 May. The current assembly is to end on 28 May.

Elections are to be held for the 224-member assembly. The counting will be completed in a single phase.

The current Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is the first chief minister of the state to complete the full five-year term in 40 years.

There was some controversy over the announcement of the election date after the head of the BJP’s IT cell, Amit Malviya, announced the date even before the Election Commission's official statement.

It was alleged that there was a leak of information about the dates.

Watch in Sign Language

Read More