DISHA - Early intervention & school readiness scheme for disabled children

Under the National Trust, which comes under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India, there are many schemes to empower people with disabilities in India.

Today we profile Disha: Early Intervention and School Readiness Scheme.

What Disha is about

This is an early intervention and school readiness scheme for children upto the age of 10 years with disabilities covered under the National Trust Act.

  • Provision of various therapies, trainings, and support to family members.
  • Day-care facilities for at least 4 hours a day from 8 AM to 6 PM.
  • Day care to be open for at least 21 days in a month.
  • Batch size of 20 children.
  • Scheme is available across India, except for Jammu and Kashmir.

Each Disha center has a special educator, a physiotherapist, a counsellor, caregiver, and helpers. There is also an assessment room with various therapeutic aids, as well as a recreation room.

Eligibility Criteria for Disha

  • For children between 0-10 years.
  • Child has any one of the disabilities covered under National Trust Act. These are autism, cerebral palsy, intellectual disabilities, and multiple disabilities.
  • Child should not be registered under Samarth Scheme.

How to Enrol

  • Parent or guardian comes to Disha center with required proof of disability.
  • Centre does an assessment test
  • Guidance given as to details of schools where child can enrol. This includes special as well as mainstream schools.
  • If parents/guardian want to send the child to a Disha center, they have to bring the enrolment form with originals and photocopies of birth certificate, disability certificate, income certificate of parent, ID proof of parent or guardian, and residence proof.

For list of Disha centers, click here -

For enrolment form, click here -


Vikaas - Day Care scheme for children with disabilities above 10 years

Gharaunda - Group Home for adults with disabilities

Watch in Sign Language

Read More