The seven stages of Alzheimer's disease

Alzheimer's disease is a mental condition that mostly affects people in old age.

The disease affects the function of the brain. It impairs thinking, memory, and reasoning power making it difficult for the patient to lead a normal life.

Unfortunately there is no cure for Alzheimer's. It can only be managed through medications. Alzheimer's has several stages And these can vary from person to person.

Here is some more information about the common stages of Alzheimer's.

  1. Stage 1

In the initial stages, there is no impairment. The patient and people around them cannot see any evidence or symptoms related to the mental disorder.

  1. Stage 2

Certain changes start taking place in the brain functioning like forgetting words and names. However, a medical examination does not reveal anything concrete at this stage.

  1. Stage 3

Changes in behavior and mental state become more apparent. Doctors may detect problems in memory or concentration. Patients may face more difficulties in performing day to day tasks.

  1. Stage 4

This stage brings mild or early-stage Alzheimer's disease. Patients are not able to perform tasks like count backwards, spell names, pay bills, and more.

  1. Stage 5

Loss of memory and brain function increases and becomes much noticeable. Patients may find it difficult to make sense of every day details such as dates or day of the week. They may start needing more help from people around them for completing tasks.

  1. Stage 6

Patients become more and more dependent on others. There are changes in personality and behavior as the memory of the person declines and they lose grip on their life.

  1. Stage 7

This is considered to be the final stage of the disease. Patients can no longer respond to their environment and feel completely lost. They need help for eating, putting on clothes, using the toilet.

Read More