Chennai Super Kings are IPL 2018 champs!

Thanks to an unbeaten 117 off just 57 balls by Shane Watson, Chennai Super Kings won the final of the IPL 2018 in style.

They beat SunRisers Hyderabad by eight wickets in the final match played at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium on Sunday. This was night. This is CSK's third IPL title.

Watson started his innings rather slowly but upped the game at a later stage. For SRH, captain Kane Williamson (47) and Yusuf Pathan (45 not out) helped post a competitive 178 for six, but it was no match for CSK as captain M S Dhoni led his team to the target with nine balls to spare.

CSK's chase had gotten off to a poor start with South African batsman Faf du Plessis falling in the fourth over when the score was just 16.

Watson and Raina got together then and smashed the SRH bowling. They put together a match-winning 117-run stand for the second wicket.

Watson became the second player after Wriddhiman Saha to score a century in an IPL final. Saha, playing for Kings XI Punjab, had achieved this against Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL final in 2014.

Read More