Text Size:
Contrast Scheme: Subscribe to RSS feed

India and Pakistan declared joint winners of Asian Champions Trophy

October 30, 2018

The finale of the Asian Champions Trophy 2018 was full of pleasant surprise for fans of hockey in India and Pakistan on Sunday.

The match was being played in Muscat in Oman and was forfeited due to heavy rainfall. As a result, both India and Pakistan have been declared as joint winners of the Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 2018.

The highest goal scorer of the tournament is Harmanpreet Singh of India who scored six goals in the championship.

India was the defending champion of the trophy and it was the 176th on field meeting between India and Pakistan hockey teams.

The final match did not go as expected due to the rain. The match organizers waited for 30 minutes and then called in a draw, awarding the winning trophy to the two rival teams.

Indian team had reached the final by defeating Japan for the second time in the competition. Pakistan won the match against Malaysia to make it to the final stage of the championship.

Fans congratulated the teams on social media. vanson soral‏ @VansonSoral wrote, "Winning isn't everything, but wanting to win is. Congrats India and Pakistan For Asian Champions Trophy 2018 #HeroACT2018 #Indiakagame #HockeyIndia"

Another fan also expressed feelings about the joint win. Suraj Prakash Upadhyay‏ @kavi246 wrote, "India has to satisfy itself as a joint winner with Pakistan, after the spectacular show in this tournament. #AsianChampionsTrophy2018 #INDvPAK #India #jointwinner #hockey"

Read More:

Want to feature your inspiring story or share an event with the disabled community? Write to:

Related News

Read More

Newz Hook - Accessible News


View More