Text Size:
Contrast Scheme: Subscribe to RSS feed

Fate of prominent leaders decided on 6th phase of voting

May 13, 2019

Several prominent politicians, including Union Minister Harsh Vardhan, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia were decided on Sunday when 59 constituencies across six states and Delhi voted in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

The big test was for the BJP, which had won 45 of these 59 seats in the 2014 elections. Voting was held in 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, seven in Delhi, four in Jharkhand and eight each in Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal. There was some violence with former police officer Bharati Ghosh, who is the BJP candidate in Ghatal, pushed to the ground by a group of people at a polling station.

Ghosh, once considered close to West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said her polling agent was not allowed to enter the booth.

I am the candidate. I am being pushed around and heckled. Those assaulting me and preventing my polling agent to enter the booth should be arrested. - Bharati Ghosh, BJP candidate, West Bengal

There's much focus on Phulpur and Gorakhpur seats in Uttar Pradesh. These had been captured by the Bahujan Samaj Party-Samajwadi Party combine in the 2018 by-polls even though they are regarded as BJP strongholds.

Among those fighting for victory in Delhi's seven seats are ex-chief minister Sheila Dikshit, Union Minister Harshvardhan, former Olympian boxer Vijender Singh and cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir.

Gambhir was among the early voters who later tweeted, "Done my bit !! It's your turn now.. Go Vote Delhi," His main rival in the East Delhi seat is the Aam Aadmi Party's Atishi, who has accused him of circulating abusive pamphlets that attacked her personally.

The ruling Trinamool Congress, BJP, the Congress and Left Front are fighting it out in West Bengal's nine constituencies. There was violence here with bodies of a BJP leader and a Trinamool Congress worker found a day before polling, leading to allegations of political murders.

Re-polling was also being held in 168 polling stations in 26 assembly segments of Tripura. The Election Commission of India ordered the re-polling after malpractices were found during voting in the first phase of the elections on 11 April.

Want to feature your inspiring story or share an event with the disabled community? Write to:

Related News

Read More

Newz Hook - Accessible News


View More