Text Size:
Contrast Scheme: Subscribe to RSS feed

How blind cricket is played in T-20 format

The 2017 T-20 World Cup Cricket for the Blind will begin on 28 January. The Cricket Association organized the first tournament in 2012 for the Blind in India and this is the second cup being hosted by the CABI.

The match is played between two teams of 11 players each. Each team has a minimum of four totally blind players who are of B1 group, three partially blind players, who are B2 and a maximum of four who are partially sighted and are of B3 group.

B1 players wear a white wristband or one stripe on their upper arm. B2 wear a red wristband and two stripes on their arm and B3 players wear a blue wristband and three stripes on their upper arm.

Bowling is underarm and the ball has to pitch once before the mid pitch and also one pitch before the batsman. The bowler gives a verbal clue before bowling and the batsman gives a verbal clue when he is ready.

The boundaries are between 45 and 50 yards from the pitch. The ball is an audio ball made of hard plastic and filled with tiny ball bearings.

Each wicket has three stumps in tube shape made of hollow metal pipe. The colour of the wicket is either fluorescent orange or yellow.

A minimum 40% of the overs have to be bowled by the B1 players, who are totally blind. All runs scored off the bat by a B1 batsman are doubled and credited to the batsman.

A one bounce catch by a B1 player will result in the batsman being given out. No fielder can dive, or lie down until the batsman has played a stroke or the ball has passed the batsman.

Read More:

Want to feature your inspiring story or share an event with the disabled community? Write to:

Related News

Read More

Newz Hook - Accessible News


View More