Petrol pumps in 8 states to be shut on Sundays from May

From 14 May, petrol pumps in eight states will be shut every Sunday after Prime Minister Narendra Modi made an appeal to save oil.

On his recent radio show Mann ki Baat, the PM had said it was important to save oil to save the environment.

Nearly 20,000 outlets in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra and Haryana will be shut for 24 hours on Sundays.

Petrol pumps will have one staff member on duty on Sundays in case there is an emergency situation.

Watch in Sign Language

Read More