Text Size:
Contrast Scheme: Subscribe to RSS feed

Kumaraswamy resigns after losing trust vote

July 24, 2019

Days of suspense about the fate of government in Karnataka have ended with the collapse of the Congress-Janata Dal Secular alliance.

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy lost the trust vote in the assembly yesterday and received only 99 votes while the BJP got the support of 105 MLAs. 20 MLAs did not take part in the voting in the 225-member Karnataka Assembly.

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy submitted his resignation from the post after meeting Governor Vajubhai Vala yesterday. Vala has accepted the resignation and asked him to continue as the caretaker CM "until alternative arrangements are made".

BJP has said that since it has 105 MLAs, it will form a stable government in the state and will stake its claim soon. BS Yeddyurappa is all set to become the state's Chief Minister for the fourth time.

Bengaluru saw some violent clashes between Congress and BJP workers before the trust vote took place. As a precaution, Section 144 across has been imposed in the city. "All pubs, wine shops will be closed till 25th. If anyone is found violating these rules, they'll be punished," said Bengaluru Police Commissioner Alok Kumar.

The twitter handle of BJP Karnataka tweeted, "It's the end of an era of corrupt and unholy alliance. We promise stable and able governance to the people of Karnataka. Together we will make Karnataka prosperous again."

Earlier the Supreme Court had ruled that the rebel MLAs can't be forced to attend the trust vote. The Congress-Janata Dal Secular coalition had 118 members and around 16 rebel legislators had resigned and moved to Mumbai a few days back putting the government's stability in danger.

Want to feature your inspiring story or share an event with the disabled community? Write to:

Related News

Read More

Newz Hook - Accessible News


View More