Text Size:
Contrast Scheme: Subscribe to RSS feed

Virat to lead India for West Indies tour

July 22, 2019

India cricket captain Virat Kohli will lead the Indian team for the Test, ODI and T20I series in West Indies, which starts on 3 August.

Rishabh Pant will be the first-choice wicket-keeper after M S Dhoni excused himself from the tour. Jasprit Bumrah has been rested from the ODI and T20I matches but will be in the Test squad with Khaleel Ahmed and Navdeep Saini included in the limited-over squads.

Among the batsmen, Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer have been included in the side. Shikhar Dhawan has made a return to the ODI and T20I teams.

This was announced by the Board of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday.

India's squad for 3 T20Is: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini. - Board of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI)

From the World Cup squad, the prominent player to be dropped is Dinesh Karhik while Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested.

Meanwhile, there is no definite news about Dhoni's future plans. Chief selector MSK Prasad said a legend like him knows when to retire. "Retirement is purely individual, a legendary cricketer like MS Dhoni, they know when to retire," said Prasad to the media. "What is the future course of action, what is the road map we have to look at, it's in the hands of selection committee".

Dhoni has taken a two-month sabbatical from the game to serve his paramilitary regiment.

Want to feature your inspiring story or share an event with the disabled community? Write to:

Related News

Read More

Newz Hook - Accessible News


View More